On March 15, 2016, Governor Snyder signed Public Acts 47 and 49 into law requiring continuing medical education (CME) for veterinarians and veterinary technicians. Here is MVMA's understanding of what will occur:
When will mandatory CME take affect?
Veterinarians: Beginning in 2020, an applicant for a veterinarian license renewal who held a license for the 3-year period immediately preceding the expiration date of the license shall have earned, within the 3-year period immediately preceding the date of the application, 45 hours of approved continuing education.
Veterinary Technicians: Beginning in 2020, an applicant for a veterinarian technician license renewal shall have earned, within the 3-year period immediately preceding the date of the application, 15 hours of approved continuing education.
How much CME will veterinarians and veterinary technicians need in order to comply with the law?
Veterinarians will be required to complete 45 hours of CME every 3 years and veterinary technicians will be required to complete 15 hours every 3 years.
How often will I need to renew my license?
License renewals for veterinarians and veterinary technicians will occur every 3 years. Previously licenses were renewed every 2 years.
What will the new fees be and when will they be implemented?
The new veterinarian fees will be $70 per year and veterinary technicians will be $20 per year when fully implemented. No fee increases will occur until the CME program is implemented.
What will be counted as approved CME?
There are no mandates or specific CME subject matter in the new law. Consequently, the Michigan Board of Veterinary Medicine is working to determine the rules. MVMA submitted suggestions to the Board of Veterinary Medicine in May of 2016 that they have considered. A draft document is currently going through the legal process for the State of Michigan, and a Public Comment period is now anticipated in the fall. MVMA will notify members when more information is available. The current draft rules approved by the Office of Regulatory Reinvention (ORR) for the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) Bureau of Professional Licensing are located at:
Veterinarian rules: http://w3.lara.state.mi.us/orr/Files/ORR/1696_2017-019LR_orr-draft.pdf
Veterinary technician rules: http://w3.lara.state.mi.us/orr/Files/ORR/1697_2017-020LR_orr-draft.pdf
MVMA’s understanding from LARA is that it does not do any good to submit suggestions to the ORR at this point. In order for suggestions to be considered, they must be submitted to the promulgating department during the public comment period which will likely be in the fall. The state hopes to get the administrative rules through the entire process by year end.
MVMA as an entity will submit comments during the public comment period which will include recommending that both MSU CVM and “local, state or regional professional organizations” be added to R338.4933, Rule 33(2) under Activity Code A. This would make any and all CME put on by these groups count toward the hours needed.
Will MVMA be providing additional CME options to help members comply?
Absolutely! In addition to increasing the number of in-person educational opportunities and webinars, MVMA now has an online CE portal available exclusively to members. On our portal, there are over 1,187 courses you can choose from, with over 641 that are completely free. In addition, the portal will track your CE and you can even enter it from external sources to track your compliance. If you have not already created an account and would like to take advantage of this new member benefit, you can access the portal by logging in with your MVMA login information. If you need assistance, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
MVMA will keep members posted as more information becomes available.